Northern Tanzania


Arusha National Park
This park was described by Sir Julian Huxley as “a gem amongst parks”. It consists of three spectacular features, the Momela Lakes, Mount Meru and the Ngurdoto Crater. The park is famous for its 575 species of birdlife and the black and white colobus monkey. Other frequently seen animals are baboon, elephant, cape buffalo, giraffe, hippo, hyena, zebra and a wide range of antelope species.

Lake Manyara National Park
Two famous spectacles in Lake Manyara National Park are the tree climbing lions and tree climbing pythons. This park is known for its beautiful landscapes. The soda lake is home to over 400 species of birds including flamingo, pelican, stork, ibis, cormorant and Egyptian geese. The park is noted for its huge herds of cape buffalo and elephant.

Mkomazi Game Reserve
This game reserve contains 90% of all botanical species found in Tanzania. This reserve is also home to the Mkomazi Rhino Project. This project involves the re-introduction of four black rhino from South Africa. It is hoped that these rhino will breed and then be re-located to natural habits in Tanzania.

Kilimanjaro National Park
At 5,895m (19,341 ft), Mount Kilimanjaro is the tallest free standing mountain in the world. Its outstanding features are its three volcanic centers, Shira in the West, Mawenzi in the East, and Kibo in the center. The forests of the National Park are home to elephant, cape buffalo, leopard, bushbuck, antelope and primates.


Ngorongoro Crater
The Ngorongoro Crater, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, is the largest unbroken volcanic caldera in the world. The crater, which formed when a large volcano exploded and collapsed on itself, is 610m deep (2,000 ft) and its floor covers 260 sq km (100 sq mi). The crater is home to up to 30,000 animals including wildebeest, zebra, cape buffalo, elephant, hippo, hyena, jackal, lion, ostrich, black rhino, warthog, gazelle, giraffe, flamingo and ostrich.

Serengeti National Park
The Serengeti National Park is arguably the best known wildlife sanctuary in the world. “Serengeti” means “endless plains” in the Masai language. Within the park boundaries are more than three million large mammals. About 35 species of plains animals can be seen here including the so-called “big five” – cape buffalo, elephant, lion, leopard and rhino.

Olduvai Gorge
Located within the Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Olduvai Gorge is another of Tanzania’s eight World Heritage Sites. The name Olduvai derives from Oldupai which is the Masai word for the type of wild sisal plant that grows in the gorge. It is here that, in 1959, Dr. Louis Leakey and his wife Mary discovered the first skull and remains of mankind.

Tarangire National Park
Tarangire National Park gets its name from the Tarangire river that threads its way through the length of the park. This park is famous for its dense wildlife population which is most spectacular between June and September, the dry period. During this time elephant, cape buffalo, giraffe, eland, hartebeest, kudu, wildebeest and oryx migrate from the dry Masai Steppe to the Tarangire River looking for water.